Hockey

The hockey club is the largest mixed sport club at the RVC, with three ladies’ teams and one men’s team that compete in the BUCS and LUSL leagues around London and the Southeast. In recent years, we have also set up an additional indoor hockey team and often play mixed games on a more relaxed basis.

The RVCHC prides itself on welcoming all abilities and socialising as one hockey community, both men and women together – we may have four teams, but we are one club that really values our inclusivity.

BUCS leagues are not due to start again until January 2021 but when everything can resume, league matches are played on Wednesdays and Sundays along with Monday night training sessions and we have weekly socials that end at Zoo bar in Leicester Square.

Key events throughout the year include:

  • Traditional Wednesday night socials: curry houses, three-legged pub crawl, charity shop themed Chinese buffet, bowling and speed dating along with joint socials with other RVC clubs and London universities
  • Hockey Tour: the club flies to a mystery European destination for a weekend of tourism and nights out – not one to be missed!
  • Old Boys/Girls: a combination of hockey and a social catch-up with the RVC’s hockey alumni
  • Sports Ball: all the clubs and societies of the RVC get glammed up for an evening to celebrate our sporting achievements
  • Mini-Tour: weekend mixed hockey tournament in Ely with pitch-side camping
  • Camden vs Hawkshead: the two campuses go head-to-head at the varsity sports day

In the meantime, we know this first term will be very different, but we are still planning to be as active as we can be, whether that’s virtually, or hopefully in person someday soon. We all remember our time as freshers and don’t want you guys to miss out on any of the fun! So sign up and get involved – you won’t regret it!

You can also like our Facebook page ‘RVC Hockey Club’ and follow our Instagram account @rvchockeyclub for more info and regular updates!

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to get in touch through any of our social media or email hockeyclub@rvc.ac.uk.

We look forward to meeting you soon!

RVC Hockey Club xx

 


Our wonderful sponsors:

  • County Alpacas http://www.countyalpacas.co.uk/
  • MediVet http://www.medivet.co.uk/
  • The Vet Service https://thevetservice.com/

 

Committee 2019/2020

President - Jack Gaunt - jgaunt7@rvc.ac.uk

Ladies' 1st Captain - Hannah Baker - hbaker6@rvc.ac.uk

Ladies' 2nd Captain - Olivia Smith - osmith7@rvc.ac.uk

Ladies' 3rd Captain - Jenna May Blake - jblake6@rvc.ac.uk

Men's 1st Captain - Hamish Leslie - hleslie7@rvc.ac.uk

Social Secs - Daniel Paterson / Elizabeth Hall - dpaterson18@rvc.ac.uk / ehall7@rvc.ac.uk

Treasurer - Cassie Howell - chowell5@rvc.ac.uk

Club Secretary - Charlotte Duncan - cduncan6@rvc.ac.uk

 

 

Hockey Events

<September 2020>
MTWTFSS
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11

Sign up to Hockey Activities

Hockey Products

Join

Please log in to join this organisation.